Dhaka, Bangladesh
No complaint lodged for Santokie ‘no-ball’

No complaint lodged for Santokie ‘no-ball’

Amid the ongoing speculation over Krishmar Santokie’s ‘no-ball’, Roqibul Hassan, the match referee and the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BBPL) technical committee chairman said that no teams involved in this match complained about the particular delivery, reports BSS. Sylhet Thunder bowler Santokie’s big overstepped ‘no-ball’ in a reminiscence of Pakistan’s Mohammad Amir’s ‘no-ball’ in Oval Test against England, during the game against Chattogram Challengers in the opening day of BBPL created a huge uproar. Later, Sylhet team director Tanjil Chowdhury, also a BCB director publicly said he smelled something fishy in ‘no-ball’ and requested BCB to look into the matter. Santokie bowled a huge wide in his third delivery also. The BCB later refused to make a comment on this issue but said they took every possible steps to make the tournament corruption free. However when the situation was such, Roqibul Hassan, also the former Bangladesh captain said, the technical committee can’t do anything in this regard. But as a match referee of that particular match, he informed that no complain was lodged against that delivery. ”Technical committee won’t do anything [regarding Santokie no-ball],” Roqibul said here today. ”It comes under betting or match fixing criteria, squad betting [so it is up the Anti-Corruption Unit],” he added. He continued: ”An official [Tanjil] of the board has brought the matter up front. That was a huge no ball and I saw Aamir doing it in Lords. It doesn’t come into our reference. I can’t comment on this.” Raquibul said that though there was nothing in the captain’s report but if BBPL governing council arrange any hearing than lot of things can be cleared. ”If they make arrangements for hearings, he can explain it there,” he said. ”Have to see the footages and also have to see if he had the same track record in the past,” he pointed out. ”He also played the next match and didn’t bowl well in one over. This is under anti-corruption unit. I was the match referee in that match but I didn’t get any report regarding that,” Roqibul concluded.

Share |