Dhaka, Bangladesh
Accept Abbas' nomination

SC orders

Accept Abbas' nomination

HC directs ROs to accept 3 nominations

The Appellate Division of the Supreme Court on Thursday asked the concerned returning officer (RO) to accept the nomination paper of BNP standing committee member Mirza Abbas and also to scrutinise it within 24 hours. The seven-member bench of the Appellate Division led by Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain passed the order after disposing of the appeal petition filed by the state. It also asked the district returning officer to give him a scope so that he can appeal against any order announced by the EC. On December 6, the High Court asked the authorities concerned to accept the nomination paper of Mirza Abbas and complete the scrutiny within 24 hours. The HC also issued a rule asking the government to explain why the refusal to accept Mirza Abbas' nomination paper should not be declared illegal. The Chief Election Commissioner, Dhaka returning officer and three others have been made respondents to the rule. Later, a petition was filed with the Appellate Division against the HC order. On November 28, the returning officer refused to accept the nomination paper of Mirza Abbas as he went to the returning officer's office after 5 pm on the last day of submission. Later, he submitted the nomination paper to the Chief Election Commissioner on December 1 but it was not sent to the returning officer concerned for scrutiny on December 2. Later on December 3, Mirza Abbas filed a writ petition with the High Court challenging the Election Commission's decision. Another message adds: The High Court on Thursday ordered the returning officers of the constituencies concerned to scrutinize the nomination papers of three candidates after accepting those. They are Gano Forum candidates M D Azharul Islam of Kishoreganj-1 constituency, M Shafiur Rahman Khan Bacchu, Kishoreganj-2 constituency and independent candidate Sadakat Khan Fakkur of Dhaka-16 constituency. The HC bench led by Justice Tariq Ul Hakim and Justice Justice Md. Shohrowardi asked the officials concerned to abide by the order within 12 hours. The candidates filed separate writs with the HC as the returning officers did not accept their nomination papers on November 28. Barrister Motahar Hossain and Raju Uddin Sarwar stood for two Gano Fourm candidates while Barrister Imran A Siddiq for Fakkur. --UNB.

Share |